Bookish Tags, Other

The End of the Year Book Tag!

Today I’m going to take part in this great book tag created by Ariel Bisset over on her Youtube channel – you can watch the full video beginning the tag here. Ariel is one of my favourite book tubers, I just love watching her videos because she’s so enthusiastic and insightful when discussing books. Although it is only September, we are far nearer to the end of the year than the start (!) and so it’s around this time of year I start thinking about how I’ve (most likely) failed to achieve most of my goals. The questions Ariel has created for this tag are about reading goals for the rest of the year and for 2018!

I’d like to tag a few of my other favourite book bloggers to complete this tag next! They are toomuchofabooknerdWords Beneath the Wings, and Ally Writes Things! I’d love to see what you guys answer to these questions!

Are there any books you started this year that you need to finish?

LOTR111

There aren’t any books that I’ve started this year and haven’t finished, but I did start the Lord of the Rings books last Christmas, and read the first 2 volumes over the holidays. I’ve been putting off the final one because, frankly I found them really slow, but I do want to get it over and done with!

Do you have an autumnal book to transition into the end of the year?

Screen Shot 2017-09-07 at 13.22.27

One of the books that I am eager to read this autumn is There’s Someone Inside Your House by Stephanie Perkins. I’ve been really enjoying YA thrillers this year, such as One Of Us Is Lying by Karen M. McManus and S.T.A.G.S by M.A. Bennett, and this book sounds like it will satisfy my urge for some teen suspense. It’s about a series of gruesome murders targeting students at a particular high school, and the hunt for the killer. I generally associate thrillers and the like with autumn and winter (Halloween, darkness, cold, etc.) so I think this book will be the perfect way to mark the beginning of autumn.

Is there a new release you’re still waiting for?

Screen Shot 2017-09-07 at 13.22.44

The Hanging Girl – Eileen Cook (October 3, 2017): This book is about a girl who gives tarot readings, but her psychic abilities are fake. She begins to help the police on the case of a local missing girl, with insider information to help her form her visions. Then, what was originally a harmless prank begins to unravel and she realises that there is much more riding on her lies than she originally thought.

What are three books you want to read before the end of the year?

Screen Shot 2017-09-07 at 13.23.01

The Dark Days Pact – Alison Goodman: I read the first book in this series earlier this year and loved it. I want to get the sequel read as soon as possible before I start to forget details, and I also think its supernatural spookiness would be really fitting for winter.

Norse Mythology – Neil Gaiman: I picked up this book at it’s release way back in February and haven’t read it yet. The main reason for this is I picked up the humungous signed hardback edition, and lugging it around is not really something I want to do. I’ll probably try and read this during my Christmas break, but I really don’t want it to be unread come New Years!

Six of Crows – Leigh Bardugo: I’ve heard so many good things about this book, and so I bought it. Months ago. It remains unread on my bookshelf, even though I’m 99% sure I’ll love it. I definitely want to read this before the end of the year.

Is there a book you think could still shock you and become your favourite book of the year?

Screen Shot 2017-09-07 at 13.23.17

Show Stopper – Hayley Barker: I only recently heard about this book, and I haven’t heard many details because what I have heard makes me want to go into this book blind. What I know is that it is set in a society where children are sold to a travelling circus with a demonic ringmaster, to provide entertainment to the richer echelons of society. I’m excited to read this, and hope that it lives up to expectations!

Have you already started making reading plans for 2018?

Screen Shot 2017-09-07 at 13.25.06
Taken from: @inkdropsbooks

I don’t usually plan very far in advance with reading because I change my mind a lot. I think that I’m going to read one book, and then when I go to my bookshelf, something else takes my fancy. However, I would like to read more classics next year. I have been building up my Penguin Clothbound Classics collection, and I’d like to say I’ve actually read more of them than I have. I also have a complete Jane Austen book section, and I want to work my way through all the ones I haven’t yet read.

I would also like to revisit some books that I’ve loved. I’d love to reread some favourite series, like ASOIAF, and Red Rising.

 

SaveSave

SaveSave

4 thoughts on “The End of the Year Book Tag!”

  1. Thank you so much for the tag, I’m so excited to do this tag!! I agree 100% with all your picks! I’m so excited for Stephanie Perkins’ new book, and the Hanging Girl sounds so interesting!

Leave a Reply

