Bookish Tags, Other

T5W: Characters’ Fitness Routines You Want

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme that was created by Lainey of gingerreadslainey and is currently hosted by Sam of ThoughtsOnTomes. Every week, I will post my top 5 of that week’s theme. If you’d like to learn more about it or join in the fun, head over to the Goodreads group where all the discussions take place here.

This week’s topic is about characters’ fitness routines that I want. The description says this can be anything, whether the character is super fast and agile, an athlete, or a foodie. It is “inspired by those routines you see in magazines for actors, but with more of an open mind and less body shaming”. Now, I am already pretty lazy, so I decided to think about physically strong characters that I wish I had the energy to be like. Maybe, one day, I will manage to get out of my bed and follow their fitness routines.

1. Wing Jones by Katherine Webber

WingJones

Often in my short 21 years of life have I thought, ‘Oh, I should start running.’ I have even tried it – usually once a year in summer – but I just can’t. I don’t know if it’s lack of mental motivation, physical laziness, or the fact that I don’t have an imaginary dragon and lioness to keep me going, but I wish I could run like Wing.

2. Arya Stark – A Song of Ice and Fire by George RR Martin

9780007448036

Water dancing. Wouldn’t you love to be able to do it, too? I loved Arya from the very first book. She just jumped off the page and spoke to me, and ever since, I’ve not only wanted her to live (please, GRRM, please) but I’ve literally wanted to be her.

3. Celaena Sardothien – Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas

Screen Shot 2017-08-14 at 12.04.27

Much like Arya, it’s not that I want to be an assassin, but I wouldn’t mind having the skills. I always get a rush when I read the passages where these characters are spinning around, swishing their swords about, hitting every target, and getting out of their opponents’ reach just in time. I think I can probably track this back to the first time I watched Lara Croft as a child. I just want to be badass.

4. Piglettes by Clementine Beauvais

Screen Shot 2017-08-05 at 13.34.45

Just how I’ve always wanted to be someone who runs like Wing Jones, I have also often imagined cycling. Not only am I too lazy (as I’ve already mentioned) to do this, but I’m also a complete coward, and someone as clumsy and unfocused as me would have to have a death wish to cycle in London where I live. Nevertheless, I was inspired reading Piglettes to follow these three girls on their journey to Paris, cycling the whole way, and lugging an entire food cart behind them.

5. Ginny Weasley – Harry Potter

Screen Shot 2017-09-07 at 12.47.17

Ginny is such a babe in the Harry Potter books. Not only is she a great quidditch player, but she can also conjure a mean Bat-Bogey Hex. Good at sport and hexes? What a girl.

 

SaveSaveSaveSaveSaveSave

Leave a Reply

