Bookish Tags, Other

T5W: Favorite SFF Cover Art

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme that was created by Lainey of gingerreadslainey and is currently hosted by Sam of ThoughtsOnTomes. Every week, I will post my top 5 of that week’s theme. If you’d like to learn more about it or join in the fun, head over to the Goodreads group where all the discussions take place here.

This week’s topic is favourite Science Fiction & Fantasy cover art. Talking about book covers is one of my favourite topics, alongside the actual content of the books. Now, some of these books I’ve read, and some I haven’t but am hoping to. I’ve chosen these 5 purely for their looks – you shouldn’t judge a book by its cover, but let’s be honest, we’ve all done it.

1. Starflight – Melissa Landers

starflight-melissa-landers-e1453435743853

I haven’t read a lot of science fiction novels, even though I love anything to do with space – something I am planning on fixing soon. This book cover perfectly captures everything that attracts me to science fiction. Jetting off to far off locations in a space ship, planets, stars, and probably some explosive drama along the way. I can’t wait to read this book.

2. Rebel of the Sands – Alwyn Hamilton

screen-shot-2017-03-04-at-13-42-03

This book is great inside as well as beautiful outside, but from when I saw this book on the shelves at the bookshop, I knew I wanted to see what was inside. I love the different tones of blue, and the gold foil on the pages reflects light and it’s just beautiful, and the way it all centres in on the landscape feels like it’s just drawing you in to the story.

You can read my review for Rebel of the Sands here.

3. The Raven Boys – Maggie Stiefvater 

the raven boys maggie stiefvater

To be honest, I know very little about this book and the Raven Cycle series as a whole, but they are on my list of books to read. I don’t want to read them just because they’re beautiful – I’ve heard that this series is great – but that might be a part of it. I love the way that the images on the covers look very dark and ominous, but the little splash of colour makes me imagine that a lot of excitement lies within its covers.

4. The Night Circus – Erin Morgenstein

night-circus-cover1-2

I haven’t read this, but the cover makes me want to. Just like with The Raven Cycle’s book covers, I feel like the cover captures your imagination without you even needing to know anything about it. I love the Victorian-style silhouette images of the man and the woman, and the simple black and white design with that dash of red. It attracts both the fantasy lover and the history nerd in me to the story.

5. Naondel – Maria Turtschinanoff

Screen Shot 2017-05-03 at 15.00.42

If you’ve been keeping up with my blog posts recently, you’ll have seen that I just can’t keep talking about Maria Turtschinanoff. Her book Maresi is one of my favourites, and I can’t wait to read the next in the Red Abbey Chronicles. Apart from the fact that I love her writing, this cover is flawless. I love the blue and white lines, and the ship mast that looks like a face. It’s so simple, and yet so striking.

Have you read any of these books yourself? What do you think of them? Comment below with your favourite science fiction and fantasy covers, or tell me if you’ve made your own #T5W list!

Leave a Reply

